StartseiteHome Media & Info CDs and DVDs Tenth anniversary of the BR-KLASSIK-Label

Tenth anniversary of the BR-KLASSIK-Label

Three maestri and the “Quartet of Critics” payed tribute to the tenth anniversary of the BR-KLASSIK label

To mark the occasion, the two chief conductors of the three ensembles of the BR – Mariss Jansons and Ivan Repušić – and the artistic director of the Bavarian Radio Chorus – Howard Arman – were together on one stage for the first time.

The “Quartet of Critics”, consisting of the renowned music critics Dr. Eleonore Büning, Max Nyffeler, Wolfgang Schreiber and Markus Thiel engaged in a lively discussion about particularly noteworthy recordings from the label’s recent history.

10 Jahre BR-KLASSIK-Label, 21. Oktober 2019 (Foto: Lisa Hinder)
10 Jahre BR-KLASSIK-Label, 21. Oktober 2019 (Foto: Lisa Hinder)
Ivan Repušić and Mariss Jansons
10 Jahre BR-KLASSIK-Label, 21. Oktober 2019 (Foto: Lisa Hinder)
10 Jahre BR-KLASSIK-Label, 21. Oktober 2019 (Foto: Lisa Hinder)
Howard Arman, Mariss Jansons and Ivan Repušić
10 Jahre BR-KLASSIK-Label, 21. Oktober 2019 (Foto: Lisa Hinder)
Maximilian Maier, moderation
10 Jahre BR-KLASSIK-Label, 21. Oktober 2019 (Foto: Lisa Hinder)
Mariss Jansons
10 Jahre BR-KLASSIK-Label, 21. Oktober 2019 (Foto: Lisa Hinder)
Radio Director Martin Wagner, Irina Jansons, Director of Television Reinhard Scolik and BR director-general Ulrich Wilhelm
10 Jahre BR-KLASSIK-Label, 21. Oktober 2019 (Foto: Lisa Hinder)
Ivan Repušić, Mariss Jansons and Howard Arman
10 Jahre BR-KLASSIK-Label, 21. Oktober 2019 (Foto: Lisa Hinder)
Quartet of Critics: Wolfgang Schreiber, Max Nyffeler, Dr. Eleonore Büning and Markus Thiel

Great artists

Great soloists like Magdalena Kožená and Christian Gerhaher as well as famous conductors such as Herbert Blomstedt, Bernhard Haitink, Daniel Harding, Simon Rattle, Andris Nelsons and Yannick Nézet-Séguin all stand for the versatility of BR-KLASSIK.

Since the Bavarian Radio Chorus performs regularly with early music ensembles, the catalogue has been further enriched by recordings with the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, the Concerto Köln and other Baroque orchestras.

Unique audio biographies

As part of “BR-KLASSIK Wissen”, the audio biographies by Jörg Handstein offer exciting experiences for German-speaking audiences. Here, famous composers with their multifaceted life stories are individually portrayed in fascinating and entertaining audio biographies, each lasting over three hours and containing numerous music examples from their works. The final CD rounds off each 4-CD box set with exemplary recordings of important works by the respective composer. These special audio biographies, only available from BR-KLASSIK, enjoy great popularity with many fans. “BR-KLASSIK Wissen” provides exciting introductions to key works of classical music as well, with lots of background information, explanations and music examples.

First publications from the archives

In addition to selected recent live recordings, outstanding historical ones from the archives of the BR are often made accessible on CD for the first time, with artists ranging from Martha Argerich, Daniel Barenboim and Friedrich Gulda to Otto Klemperer and Günter Wand. The voices of legendary singers such as Edita Gruberovà, Margaret Price and Fritz Wunderlich play a special role here.


Opera fans can already look forward to a Ring of the Nibelung with Sir Simon Rattle: The Rhinegold is being followed in early 2020 by The Valkyrie.

There is also Tchaikovsky’s The Queen of Spades with Mariss Jansons and the BRSO. Rarities are on offer from the Münchner Rundfunkorchester, too, with its chief conductor Ivan Repušić: Verdi’s Luisa Miller and I due Foscari, in addition to Rossini’s Sigismondo under Keri-Lynn Wilson.

Prizewinning performances

The label’s outstanding international reputation has also been continuously shaped by music critics worldwide, whose excellent reviews and articles repeatedly emphasize the high artistic and acoustic quality of the recordings. Numerous prizes and record awards continue to confirm the excellent standard of the musicians’ recordings; they include the BBC Music Award, five Echo Klassik Awards, the Diapason d’Or, and many more.


Around 150 CDs and DVDs have so far been released. Most are also available as streams and downloads, some exclusively so.

So far, ten world premiere recordings of contemporary works have been released on the BR-KLASSIK label.

The bestseller of the label’s first ten years is the 6-CD set of the complete Beethoven symphonies including five contemporary commissioned works, all performed by the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks under Mariss Jansons (6 CDs).


Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our Privacy Policy for details.